Sixty-four people invested more than $35 million with Siddharth Jawahar. Prosecutors say he invested about $10 million of it. The rest — roughly $25.6 million — has never been fully accounted for in the public record.
On Tuesday, September 15, 2026, in a federal courtroom in St. Louis, prosecutors named one of the 64.
Travis Kelce.
The Kansas City Chiefs tight end. One of the most recognizable athletes in America.
Kelce's name was mentioned in court as one of Jawahar's victims. He was not accused of any wrongdoing. His name does not appear in the indictment or the judgment.
In that same courtroom, Jawahar, 38, listened to his sentence: 11 years in federal prison, and $31.35 million in restitution.
But the number that should stick in your mind is not 11 years. It is not $31.35 million.
Court records put the total collected from investors at $35,607,984.16.
Prosecutors say he invested only about $10 million of it. And eventually, 99% of client funds were concentrated in a single stock: a Pakistani tobacco company.
When the stock fell, Jawahar concealed the losses. He told investors the shares were trading at 4,000 rupees when the actual price was 541 rupees.
Then he used new investors' money to pay old ones.
But the question that remains is not how much Kelce lost. The question is: how much of the money can the public record actually account for?
What Happened
Siddharth Jawahar, 38, founded Swiftarc Capital LLC in Texas. He registered as an investment adviser in 2013. Between July 2016 and December 2023, he ran what federal prosecutors described as a Ponzi scheme that collected more than $35 million from 64 investors across Missouri, New York, Ohio, and elsewhere.
He pleaded guilty in January 2026 to three counts of wire fraud. A fourth charge — investment adviser fraud — was dropped as part of the plea agreement.
At sentencing, U.S. District Judge Zachary M. Bluestone called Jawahar's conduct a "weaponization of investors' trust". He noted that Jawahar's failure to begin repaying victims was a major factor in the sentence.
Jawahar is from India. He has been living in the United States without legal status since 2005, according to court documents. Prosecutors said he tried to obstruct the investigation — coaching a victim on what to tell the FBI, and asking a relative to remotely wipe his iPhone.
The Money
Several key figures appear in the public record, but they measure different things.
| Figure | What It Represents | Source |
|---|---|---|
| $35,607,984.16 | Total collected from investors | Court records |
| ~$10,000,000 | Amount prosecutors say was actually invested | DOJ |
| ~$25,600,000 | The arithmetic difference between collected and invested | Calculated from confirmed figures |
| $31,350,000 | Restitution ordered | Court |
| $0 | Amount paid toward restitution at sentencing | Judge Bluestone |
The Department of Justice's press release in January 2026, announcing the plea, stated that investors lost more than $25 million. The sentencing coverage in September 2026 stated that Jawahar took in more than $35 million. These are not contradictions. They measure different things: $35 million is what came in. $25 million is the loss admitted in the plea agreement.
The arithmetic difference between the amount collected and the amount invested is roughly $25.6 million. The public record reviewed for this article does not provide a complete dollar-by-dollar accounting of that difference.
One source — the New Zealand Herald — reported figures of $61 million collected and $17.45 million invested. Those figures appear nowhere in any official U.S. source. The DOJ has not confirmed them. This article does not use them.
How the Scheme Worked
The mechanism was not complex. It was devastatingly simple.
2015: The beginning. Jawahar began moving client funds into Philip Morris Pakistan (PMP), a Pakistani tobacco company whose shares were thinly traded. By 2019, 99% of client funds were concentrated in that single stock, according to the Texas State Securities Board.
September 2019: The concealment. Monthly trading volume in PMP fell below 3,500 shares. The stock was becoming illiquid. Jawahar instructed the fund's administrator to report the value of PMP at 4,000 rupees per share — even though the brokerage account statements showed a much lower price.
2019–2022: The collapse. The actual price of PMP fell from 3,230 rupees in September 2019 to 1,760 rupees in May 2020 to 541 rupees by May 2022. Jawahar continued reporting 4,000.
Early 2020: The Ponzi payment. A new investor gave Jawahar $250,000. All of it went to make payments to two existing investors. No investment. No purchase. Just a transfer.
May 2018: The fake investment. Jawahar emailed two investors claiming Swiftarc was "investing a total of $525,000" in a company. He never invested anything. He also admitted misleading investors who gave him $175,000 (Missouri), $75,000 (Missouri), $350,000 (New York), and $250,000 (Ohio) — promising to invest in specific companies and never doing so.
June 2022: The Texas cease-and-desist. The Texas State Securities Board ordered Jawahar to stop. He continued soliciting investors for another 18 months, according to the indictment.
By the time the scheme collapsed, the fund was "effectively illiquid," with nearly $5 million in outstanding redemption requests that could not be met.
Where the Money Went
This is the core of the story. And it is where the public record runs out.
The money trail begins with 64 investors and ends with a restitution order of $31.35 million. In between, the funds passed through Swiftarc Capital LLC and a group of affiliated Swiftarc and related entities — names like Swiftarc Fund LP, Swiftarc Growth Fund LP, Swiftarc Opportunities Fund LP, and Swiftarc Venture Labs Fund LP. The Department of Justice listed each entity in its press release. The public record reviewed for this article does not explain what role each entity played in moving money.
What we know is this:
About $10 million was invested. Eventually, 99% of client funds were concentrated in Philip Morris Pakistan, according to the DOJ and the Texas State Securities Board. As the stock fell, Jawahar concealed the losses and continued reporting inflated values to investors.
The roughly $25.6 million difference. The public record identifies at least two documented destinations for funds that were not invested:
First, payments to earlier investors. The $250,000 payment documented by Texas regulators is one example. No total has been published.
Second, personal spending. Court documents describe private jet travel, luxury hotels, private club memberships, expensive restaurants, and shopping sprees at Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Prada, Neiman Marcus, and other stores. Two specific real estate purchases are documented: an apartment in New York for $164,000 and an apartment in Texas for $363,280 — a total of $527,280 (Fortune, citing court documents).
That $527,280 is a fraction of the $35.6 million collected. The other documented categories — planes, hotels, clubs, restaurants, clothing — have no published dollar figure.
The public documents reviewed for this article do not provide a complete dollar-by-dollar accounting of the remainder.
Who Lost
Sixty-four people lost money. Their names have not been published. Their individual losses have not been disclosed.
One name was mentioned in court: Travis Kelce. He was identified by prosecutors as a victim. He was not accused of any wrongdoing. His name does not appear in the indictment or the judgment. He was an investor in Swiftarc Ventures Labs Fund, according to a 2021 Forbes article that identified him and several NBA players — Gary Harris, Tim Hardaway Jr., and Mason Plumlee — as investors in the fund.
| What We Know | What We Do Not Know |
|---|---|
| He invested in a Swiftarc fund | How much he invested |
| Prosecutors named him as a victim | How much he lost |
| He was not accused of wrongdoing | When he invested |
| Forbes identified him in 2021 | Whether he recovered anything |
The Guardian reported: "It is not known when Kelce made the investment or how much he spent." Yahoo Finance reported: "It's not clear how much money, if any, Kelce lost."
The NBA players are in a different category. Forbes identified them as investors. No official source has confirmed they were victims. Investor status is not victim status. This article does not conflate them.
What Regulators Found
The earliest public regulatory action identified in the record came from the Texas State Securities Board.
On June 7, 2022, the board revoked Swiftarc Capital's authority and ordered Jawahar to cease and desist from fraud. The order laid out the mechanism: the 99% concentration in PMP, the false 4,000-rupee valuation, the $250,000 payment from a new investor to old ones, the $5 million in unmet redemption requests.
The order was public. The scheme continued for another 18 months.
Federal prosecutors indicted Jawahar in December 2023. The indictment included a forfeiture allegation — a request to seize assets. An attorney for forfeiture appeared in the case. But the public record reviewed for this article does not establish what assets, if any, were ultimately forfeited or recovered.
Jawahar pleaded guilty in January 2026. The plea agreement admitted a loss of "more than $25 million". At sentencing, prosecutors detailed attempts to obstruct justice: coaching a victim, seeking to wipe a phone, and attempting to marry a U.S. citizen to avoid deportation.
Judge Bluestone sentenced him to 11 years and ordered restitution of $31.35 million.
There is also a related civil case pending in the U.S. District Court for the District of Delaware. In Richardson et al. v. Jawahar et al., investors sued Jawahar and several Swiftarc-related entities, alleging an investment fraud scheme. The case was transferred to Delaware in September 2025, and litigation continued in 2026.
What Has Been Recovered
At sentencing, Jawahar had paid $0 toward the $31,350,000 restitution order.
Judge Bluestone explicitly stated that "failure to begin repaying victims was a major factor" in the sentence.
The indictment included a forfeiture allegation, but the public record reviewed for this article does not establish what assets, if any, were ultimately forfeited or recovered.
Jawahar's attorney said his client "has made every effort from a jail cell in St. Genevieve [County] to recoup restitution for victims," but no amount has been disclosed.
The court has not published an asset schedule. The government has not announced any seizures. No restitution payments have been disclosed.
What Remains Unknown
This article cannot answer every question. It does not pretend to.
But the gaps in the public record are not technicalities. They are the difference between knowing that money was spent and knowing where it went. They determine whether victims will ever see restitution. They determine whether the affiliated entities were used to move money — and if so, how. And they determine whether the 64 victims will ever know what happened to their money.
How much did Travis Kelce lose? Unknown. Not disclosed in court. Not disclosed by his representatives. Not disclosed in any filing reviewed for this article.
What role did each of the affiliated entities play in moving money? Unknown. The DOJ listed them. The public record reviewed for this article does not explain them.
What assets were seized or frozen? Unknown. A forfeiture allegation was filed. The results have not been published.
Why $35 million collected vs. $31.35 million in restitution? The difference is approximately $4.25 million. No official explanation has been published.
Why Philip Morris Pakistan? Jawahar began moving client funds into PMP in 2015 and eventually put 99% of client money into it. No evidence in the public record reviewed for this article explains why he chose that stock. There is no evidence of a relationship, incentive, or kickback. This article does not imply one.
What was the total spent on each category of personal expenditure? Unknown. The categories are documented. The totals are not.
What Happens Next
Jawahar is serving an 11-year federal sentence. He is from India and has been in the U.S. without legal status since 2005. Prosecutors said he is expected to be deported after serving his time. That process has not begun.
The forfeiture allegation remains in the case record. Additional assets could be identified. Restitution could be partially recovered through civil proceedings.
The related Delaware civil case remains active. Additional filings may disclose further detail on fund structure and transactions.
The 64 victims — including Travis Kelce — have not received restitution. The court order stands.
The Bottom Line
Jawahar collected $35,607,984.16 from 64 investors. Prosecutors say he invested about $10 million — with 99% of client funds eventually concentrated in a single Pakistani tobacco stock.
When the stock fell, he concealed the losses, reported a false price, and used new investors' money to pay old ones.
The arithmetic difference between collected and invested is roughly $25.6 million. The public record documents some of where it went — payments to earlier investors and personal spending, including $527,280 on two apartments. It does not document the rest.
He was sentenced to 11 years. He was ordered to pay $31.35 million. At sentencing, he had paid $0.
Travis Kelce was one of the 64.
The real question is not how much Kelce lost. The real question is: how much of the money can the public record actually account for — and where does the remainder sit today?
Sources
All sources below are primary documents, major news organizations, or court records. Links verified as of September 21, 2026.
Primary Documents
- U.S. Department of Justice — Press Release (January 21, 2026): "Ponzi Schemer Admits Bilking Investors in Missouri, Elsewhere out of $25 Million" — Announces the plea agreement, states "more than $25 million" in losses, describes the 99% PMP concentration, lists the affiliated entities, and provides the specific amounts Jawahar falsely promised to invest ($175,000 + $75,000 + $350,000 + $250,000). https://www.justice.gov/usao-edmo/pr/ponzi-schemer-admits-bilking-investors-missouri-elsewhere-out-25-million
- Texas State Securities Board — Cease and Desist Order (June 7, 2022): "Investment – Overvalued and Up in Smoke: Securities Commissioner revokes investment adviser for fraudulent overvaluing scheme" — Documents the 4,000-rupee valuation, the actual price collapse (3,230 → 1,760 → 541 rupees), the $250,000 Ponzi payment, and the $5 million in unmet redemption requests. https://www.ssb.texas.gov/news-publications/investment-overvalued-and-smoke-securities-commissioner-revokes-investment
- U.S. Department of Justice — Press Release (September 15–16, 2026): Sentencing announcement, confirming 11 years, $31.35 million restitution, and 64 victims. https://www.justice.gov/usao-edmo/pr
- CourtListener Docket — United States v. Jawahar (E.D. Mo.): Docket #68147359. Includes the indictment, plea documents, and forfeiture allegation. https://www.courtlistener.com/docket/68147359/united-states-v-jawahar/
Major News Coverage
- CNN (September 17, 2026): "Man sentenced in $35 million Ponzi scheme that bilked dozens, including Travis Kelce" — Reports the 11-year sentence, $31.35 million restitution, 64 victims, and Jawahar's immigration status. https://www.cnn.com/2026/09/17/us/ponzi-scheme-sentencing-travis-kelce-hnk
- Associated Press (September 16, 2026): "Investment firm leader gets 11 years for Ponzi scheme that bilked dozens, including Travis Kelce" — Confirms sentencing details and provides the U.S. Attorney's Office statement on the $35 million collected and $10 million invested. https://apnews.com/article/travis-kelce-kc-chiefs-ponzi-scheme-victims-1eade4a5210c5b1f0c35ecd96d53ada3
- The Guardian (September 16, 2026): "Chiefs star Travis Kelce is named among victims of $35m Ponzi scheme" — Reports "it is not known when Kelce made the investment or how much he spent." https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2026/sep/16/travis-kelce-ponzi-scheme
- InvestmentNews (September 18, 2026): "Ex-Texas advisor gets 11 years for Ponzi scheme, Travis Kelce among victims" — Confirms 64 victims, details on the Forbes 2021 article identifying Kelce and NBA players as investors, and notes "reports do not indicate the extent of losses for Kelce." https://www.investmentnews.com/regulation-legal-compliance/ex-texas-advisor-gets-11-years-for-ponzi-scheme-travis-kelce-among-victims/268262
- Fortune / Yahoo Finance (September 16, 2026): "Man sentenced in $35 million Ponzi scheme that defrauded Travis Kelce: 'He did this out of greed'" — Provides the $35,607,984.16 court records figure, the May 2018 fake $525,000 investment email, and the $164,000 + $363,280 apartment figures. https://finance.yahoo.com/markets/crypto/articles/man-sentenced-35-million-ponzi-204402443.html
- Yahoo Sports (September 18, 2026): "How Did Travis Kelce Get Caught Up in a Ponzi Scheme? Lawyers Explain" — Provides detail on the Texas order, the 18-month continuation, and the "affinity fraud" mechanism. https://sports.yahoo.com/articles/did-travis-kelce-caught-ponzi-032726359.html
- MetroEast Star (September 16, 2026): "Illegal Immigrant Sentenced to 11 Years in Prison for Multimillion-Dollar Ponzi Scheme" — Provides Judge Bluestone's statement on "weaponized" trust and the full list of affiliated entities. https://metroeaststar.com/2026/09/16/illegal-immigrant-sentenced-to-11-years-in-prison-for-multimillion-dollar-ponzi-scheme/
Forbes 2021 (Context)
- Forbes (June 14, 2021): "How Orlando Magic Guard Gary Harris Grew To Enjoy Venture Capital, Technology, Real Estate And Other Business Topics" — The original article that identified Kelce, Gary Harris, Tim Hardaway Jr., and Mason Plumlee as investors in a Swiftarc fund. https://www.forbes.com/sites/timcasey/2021/06/14/how-orlando-magic-guard-gary-harris-grew-to-enjoy-venture-capital-technology-real-estate-and-other-business-topics/
Delaware Civil Litigation
- Law.com Radar — Richardson et al. v. Jawahar et al.: Case No. 1:25-cv-01135, U.S. District Court for the District of Delaware. Filed September 11, 2025. Accuses defendants of encouraging plaintiffs to invest in Swiftarc entities through material misrepresentations. https://www.law.com/radar/card/richardson-et-al-v-jawahar-et-al-60102336-2/
- CourtListener — Richardson et al. v. Jawahar et al.: Trial Court Document, August 7, 2026. Includes the Report and Recommendation on motions to dismiss. https://www.courtlistener.com/opinion/10944230/kathryn-a-richardson-trustee-for-the-kathryn-a-bilski-revocable-trust/
Contested Figure (Documented But Not Used)
- New Zealand Herald (September 18, 2026): "Travis Kelce named victim in $61m Ponzi scheme" — The only source reporting $61 million collected and $17.45 million invested. These figures are not supported by any U.S. official source. https://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/man-sentenced-to-prison-in-61m-ponzi-scheme-that-duped-travis-kelce/6YRJHOF2PNC4NMNOFOLEWTVDMI/
Comments
Post a Comment