Skip to main content

CoreWeave Raised $4.2 Billion in Convertible Debt. Here Is How the Money and Dilution Are Structured

CoreWeave data center at dusk with the $4.2 billion convertible debt figure displayed in gold

CoreWeave completed a $4.2 billion convertible-notes offering on September 22, creating a new layer of capital that combines a 2.875% debt obligation with potential future equity issuance and a $566.2 million capped-call transaction.

Key Takeaways

  • CoreWeave completed a $4.2 billion convertible-notes offering on September 22, 2026, with a 2.875% annual interest rate and a maturity date of April 1, 2033.
  • CoreWeave received $4.137 billion in net proceeds after initial purchasers' discounts, before estimated offering expenses, and approximately $566.2 million went toward capped-call transactions.
  • The notes have an initial conversion price of approximately $97.85 per share, while the maximum conversion rate could result in as many as 52,578,540 shares being issued upon full conversion, subject to adjustments.
  • The capped-call transactions have an initial cap price of $199.70 per share and are intended to reduce potential dilution and/or offset certain potential cash payments associated with conversion.
  • CoreWeave says the remaining proceeds are intended for general corporate purposes, but the 8-K does not provide a detailed dollar allocation.

The Short Answer

CoreWeave raised $4.2 billion through convertible senior notes, received $4.137 billion in net proceeds after initial purchasers' discounts, and used approximately $566.2 million to fund capped-call transactions. The remaining proceeds are intended for general corporate purposes, while the notes create a potential future equity obligation through their conversion provisions.

$4.2 Billion Is the Starting Point, Not the Whole Money Story

$4.2 billion.

That is the aggregate principal amount of convertible senior notes CoreWeave completed on September 22, 2026.

The financing is large, but the more revealing numbers are underneath it.

CoreWeave received $4.137 billion in net proceeds after initial purchasers' discounts, before estimated offering expenses. It then used part of those proceeds to fund capped-call transactions costing approximately $566.2 million. The company says the remainder is intended for general corporate purposes.

That means the filing gives investors a clear view of the financing structure, but not a dollar-by-dollar map of where the remaining capital will ultimately be spent.

The transaction also creates a potential equity obligation. The notes have an initial conversion price of approximately $97.85 per share, while the maximum conversion rate could result in as many as 52,578,540 shares being issued upon full conversion, subject to adjustments under the indenture.

The result is a financing with three connected components:

capital raised today → debt obligation through 2033 → potential future equity dilution.

The capped calls sit alongside that structure as a separate transaction intended to reduce some of the potential dilution and certain cash exposure if conversion occurs.

What Happened

CoreWeave completed an upsized private offering of $4.2 billion aggregate principal amount of 2.875% Convertible Senior Notes due 2033.

The original purchasers exercised their option to purchase an additional $500 million of notes in full, bringing the final principal amount to $4.2 billion. The notes were sold to persons reasonably believed to be qualified institutional buyers under Rule 144A.

The notes are general senior, unsecured obligations of CoreWeave.

They are also jointly and severally, fully and unconditionally guaranteed on a senior, unsecured basis by certain wholly owned subsidiaries that currently or in the future guarantee specified existing CoreWeave debt, including senior notes due in 2030, 2031 and 2032 and convertible senior notes due in 2031 and 2032.

The notes carry a 2.875% annual interest rate, payable semiannually beginning April 1, 2027.

They mature on April 1, 2033, unless converted, redeemed or repurchased earlier under the terms of the indenture.

CoreWeave also retains control over the form of settlement when notes are converted: the company may deliver cash, shares of Class A common stock, or a combination of both.

That settlement flexibility is central to understanding the financing.

The $4.2 billion is debt today.

But some or all of that obligation can ultimately interact with CoreWeave's equity depending on the conversion and settlement provisions.

The Money Trace

The money trail can be reconstructed from the 8-K without assuming how CoreWeave will spend the funds.

1. Investors provide the capital

$4.2 billion

CoreWeave issued $4.2 billion of principal amount of convertible senior notes.

This is the face value of the new debt, not the amount of cash CoreWeave ultimately retained.

2. Initial purchasers' discounts reduce the proceeds

CoreWeave reports $4.137 billion in net proceeds after deducting the initial purchasers' discounts.

The company explicitly states that this figure is before estimated offering expenses payable by CoreWeave.

3. Part of the proceeds funds capped calls

CoreWeave used part of those proceeds to fund the cost of entering into the capped-call transactions.

The disclosed cost was approximately:

$566.2 million.

These transactions cover, subject to anti-dilution adjustments, the number of Class A shares that initially underlie the notes.

CoreWeave says they are generally expected to reduce potential dilution if the notes are converted and/or offset certain potential cash payments above the principal amount of converted notes.

But that protection is subject to a cap.

4. The rest has no detailed allocation in the 8-K

CoreWeave says it intends to use the remainder of the net proceeds for:

general corporate purposes.

The filing does not provide a dollar allocation among data centers, GPUs, debt repayment, operating expenses, acquisitions, investments or other individual uses.

Therefore, the exact amount remaining after all offering expenses and the capped-call cost is:

not disclosed.

That distinction matters.

We can calculate that $4.137 billion less approximately $566.2 million equals approximately $3.571 billion, but that is not the company's disclosed final cash amount available for general corporate purposes because the $4.137 billion figure is explicitly before estimated offering expenses.

For that reason, this article does not present $3.571 billion as CoreWeave's final remaining proceeds.

The Second Money Trail: Debt Can Become Equity

The other side of the transaction is the conversion mechanism.

The notes initially convert at a rate of 10.2194 shares per $1,000 principal amount, equivalent to an initial conversion price of approximately $97.85 per share. That represented a 22.50% premium to CoreWeave's September 17, 2026 closing price of $79.88.

Under specified circumstances, the conversion rate can increase, subject to a maximum conversion rate of 12.5187 shares per $1,000.

Using that maximum rate, the filing says as many as 52,578,540 shares could be issued upon full conversion, subject to customary adjustments.

This does not mean CoreWeave will issue those shares.

It means the financing documents establish a contractual maximum based on the stated conversion provisions.

The actual settlement will depend on the circumstances under which conversion occurs and CoreWeave's election to settle in cash, shares, or a combination.

The $566.2 Million Capped Call

The capped call is the most important piece of the financing beyond the headline debt amount.

CoreWeave entered into privately negotiated capped-call transactions with a group of financial institutions when the offering was priced.

After the purchasers exercised the option for the additional $500 million of notes, CoreWeave entered into additional capped-call transactions on September 18.

The contracts cover, subject to anti-dilution adjustments, the number of shares that initially underlie the notes.

CoreWeave says their purpose is generally to reduce potential dilution to Class A shareholders upon conversion and/or offset certain potential cash payments above the principal amount of converted notes.

But the protection has a ceiling.

The initial cap price is $199.70 per share.

CoreWeave's September 17 closing price was $79.88.

The filing describes the $199.70 cap price as a 150% premium to that reference price.

CoreWeave paid approximately $566.2 million for the capped-call transactions.

And there is an important legal distinction: the capped calls are separate transactions between CoreWeave and the option counterparties. They are not part of the notes and do not change noteholders' rights under the notes or the indenture.

That means the financing has two separate contractual relationships:

CoreWeave ↔ Noteholders

and

CoreWeave ↔ Capped-call counterparties

They interact economically, but they are not the same instrument.

The Numbers

Item Amount / Term What the 8-K establishes
Convertible notes issued$4.2 billionFinal aggregate principal amount
Additional notes$500 millionInitial purchasers exercised option in full
Interest rate2.875%Annual coupon
MaturityApril 1, 2033Unless earlier converted, redeemed or repurchased
Net proceeds$4.137 billionAfter initial purchasers' discounts, before estimated offering expenses
Capped-call cost~$566.2 millionFunded from offering proceeds
Initial conversion rate10.2194 shares / $1,000Subject to adjustments
Initial conversion price~$97.85/share22.50% premium to Sept. 17 closing price
Maximum conversion rate12.5187 shares / $1,000Subject to adjustments
Maximum shares issuable upon full conversion52,578,540Based on maximum conversion rate
Initial capped-call cap price$199.70/shareSubject to adjustments
Sept. 17 closing price$79.88/shareReference price stated in filing
Detailed allocation of remaining proceedsnot disclosedCompany says general corporate purposes
Final proceeds after all offering expensesnot disclosed$4.137B is before estimated offering expenses

Timeline

September 17, 2026

CoreWeave entered into the base capped-call transactions in connection with pricing the offering. The initial offering structure was subsequently expanded through the purchasers' additional-note option.

September 18, 2026

The initial purchasers exercised their option to purchase an additional $500 million of notes.

CoreWeave entered into additional capped-call transactions covering the additional notes.

September 22, 2026

CoreWeave completed the upsized offering.

The final aggregate principal amount reached $4.2 billion.

The notes were issued under an indenture dated September 22, 2026.

April 1, 2027

The first scheduled semiannual interest payment date under the notes.

April 1, 2033

Scheduled maturity date, unless the notes are converted, redeemed or repurchased earlier under their terms.

What's Confirmed vs. What's Alleged

Confirmed by the SEC filing

CoreWeave completed $4.2 billion of convertible senior notes.

The additional $500 million option was exercised in full.

The notes carry a 2.875% annual coupon.

They mature April 1, 2033, unless an earlier contractual event changes their status.

CoreWeave received $4.137 billion after initial purchasers' discounts.

The figure is before estimated offering expenses.

Approximately $566.2 million was spent on capped calls.

The company says those transactions are generally intended to reduce potential dilution and/or offset certain excess cash payments upon conversion, subject to the cap.

The notes can be settled in cash, shares or a combination.

The election belongs to CoreWeave under the terms described in the filing.

Up to 52,578,540 shares could be issued upon full conversion based on the maximum conversion rate.

That figure is subject to the customary adjustments specified in the indenture.

The remaining proceeds are intended for general corporate purposes.

The filing does not provide a more detailed allocation.

What this 8-K does not establish

It does not establish that CoreWeave is in financial distress.

It does not establish that the company raised the money because it could not obtain another form of financing.

It does not establish that the proceeds will be spent primarily on data centers or GPUs.

It does not establish that the notes will eventually convert into shares.

It does not establish that all 52.58 million potentially issuable shares will be issued.

And it does not identify the ultimate institutional holders of the notes in this filing.

Those are separate questions that require separate evidence.

What Remains Unknown

The most important unanswered question is simple:

What exactly will CoreWeave do with the capital that remains after the disclosed transaction costs?

The 8-K does not say.

It gives us the first part of the trail:

$4.2B principal amount

→ $4.137B net proceeds after initial purchasers' discounts

→ ~$566.2M capped-call cost

→ remainder for general corporate purposes

But the final branch of that map is not disclosed.

Specifically, this filing does not disclose:

  • The final amount remaining after all offering expenses
  • The amount allocated to data-center construction
  • The amount allocated to GPUs or other equipment
  • The amount allocated to debt repayment
  • The amount allocated to operating expenses
  • The amount allocated to acquisitions or investments
  • Whether the notes will ultimately be converted
  • How much dilution will actually occur, if any
  • The ultimate identity of the noteholders

Those figures remain not disclosed in this 8-K.

That is not a gap to fill with assumptions.

It is part of the story.

Why It Matters

The significance of this transaction is not simply that CoreWeave raised a large amount of money.

It is that the company has created a financing structure in which capital, debt and potential equity dilution are tied together.

The company receives substantial capital immediately.

In exchange, it assumes $4.2 billion of principal obligations carrying a 2.875% coupon and maturing in 2033, subject to the conversion, redemption and repurchase provisions in the indenture.

At the same time, CoreWeave paid approximately $566.2 million for capped-call transactions intended to reduce some of the potential economic effect of conversion.

The protection is not unlimited.

Its initial cap is $199.70 per share, and the filing explicitly says the reduction or offset provided by the capped calls is subject to that cap.

The financing also sits alongside existing capital-market debt that the filing identifies as including senior notes carrying stated rates of 9.250%, 9.000%, 9.750%, 9.625% and 8.500%, as well as 1.75% convertible senior notes due in 2031 and 2032. Those existing obligations matter because the new notes are guaranteed by subsidiaries that currently or in the future guarantee specified existing debt.

But the 8-K alone does not establish what economic purpose the new $4.2 billion will ultimately serve within that broader capital structure.

That is the boundary between what the document tells us and what still needs to be investigated.

For Money Traces, that boundary is important.

The document gives us a precise record of how the capital was raised and how the transaction was structured.

It does not yet give us a precise record of where every remaining dollar will go.

The Bottom Line

CoreWeave has completed a $4.2 billion convertible-debt financing.

The company reports $4.137 billion in net proceeds after initial purchasers' discounts, before estimated offering expenses.

Approximately $566.2 million went toward capped-call transactions designed generally to reduce potential dilution and/or offset certain cash payments associated with conversion, subject to the applicable cap.

The notes carry a 2.875% annual interest rate, mature in 2033, and initially convert at approximately $97.85 per share.

Under the maximum conversion rate stated in the filing, up to 52,578,540 shares could be issued upon full conversion, subject to contractual adjustments.

The remaining proceeds are designated for general corporate purposes.

Exactly where that remaining capital will go is not disclosed.

That is the clearest way to read the transaction:

CoreWeave has secured $4.2 billion of new capital, paid a disclosed $566.2 million for a separate dilution-management structure, and added a long-dated convertible obligation to its capital stack. The next part of the money trail — how the remaining proceeds are actually deployed — is still outside the disclosure contained in this 8-K.

Written and edited by Hossam Seif, founder of Money Traces.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

$9.49 Trillion Was Pledged. Where Is the Money?

MONEY TRACES | FINANCIAL GEOPOLITICS $9.49 Trillion Was Pledged. Where Is the Money? The White House headline is enormous. The amount currently tied to named U.S. projects is dramatically smaller. Published: August 23, 2026  ·  By: Hossam Seif The Trump administration says its trade diplomacy has secured $9.49 trillion in new U.S. investment and related economic commitments through its "America First" trade and investment deals. A detailed reclassification published by Steptoe on August 19 tells a much narrower story. Steptoe's line-by-line review found that only about $4.12 trillion of the headline figure can be classified as U.S.-directed investment language — and even that number contains nonbinding, project-contingent, and potentially overlapping commitments. Only $217.7 bi...

Village Roadshow Bankruptcy: How 'Secured' Creditors Got 3.5 Cents

Money Traces · Financial Reconstruction You know the logo. But would you ever expect that logo to sit above a bankruptcy case where a class of “Senior Secured” creditors was projected to recover just 3.5 cents for every dollar of its allowed claim? Village Roadshow helped finance more than 100 films whose combined worldwide box-office receipts exceeded $19 billion. The company was behind films including The Matrix , Joker , Ocean’s Eleven , Mad Max: Fury Road and Wonka . Then, on March 17, 2025, Village Roadshow filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection in Delaware. Its assets were hardly worthless. Alcon ultimately agreed to pay $417.5 million for the company’s 108-film library, while separate transactions brought aggregate headline consideration to about $440.25 million plus assumed liabilities . So what happened? The answer is not that the movies suddenly stopped maki...

Who Is Really Financing the AI Boom? Inside Wall Street’s $500 Billion Risk Engine

MONEY TRACES — FINANCIAL INTELLIGENCE THE BOTTOM LINE The Scale The AI infrastructure buildout is creating a financing demand measured in hundreds of billions of dollars, pushing capital beyond traditional corporate balance sheets and into private financing platforms, structured leases, and asset-backed credit. The Collateral Specialized lenders are financing AI infrastructure with physical compute assets, including NVIDIA GPU deployments, creating a credit question that did not exist at this scale before: how durable is the collateral when computing economics change so quickly? The Exposure Private credit is increasingly accessible to institutional and retirement markets. That does not mean 401(k) investors are directly financing GPUs—but it does create a potential channel through which AI infrastructure risk can enter diversified portfolios. A $500 billion financing pipe...